Skip to page content Skip to page menu Skip to page footer
Skip to page content Skip to page menu Skip to page footer Accessibility and access key information Home page Search Site map Employee directory Email the webmaster About MacMurray College Admission Academics Athletics Student/campus life Resources Alumni Giving
Search Menu

MacMurray honors top students

April 20, 2014

2014 Awards and Recipients


  • Lavern “Bud” Harbour Award. The Harbour Scholarship commemorates Lavern “Bud” Harbour’s fifty years of dedicated service to the MacMurray College Physical Plant Department -- Chance Bowen
  • Louise Sheppard Memorial Award. Best speech in Rhetoric 101  -- Elijah Bean
  • Clara Strubinger Sinclair Award. For Music Demonstrated excellence in music and outstanding musical qualities -- Ashley Butler


  • Art Department Award. Superior scholarship as a senior art major -- Shelby Woodward
  • Patricia Lanahan Schweiter Memorial Award. Outstanding achievement in the creative arts and contributions in art, music, and theatre -- Anastasia Morwell
  • Tillard Truscott Laurent Memorial Award. Outstanding creativity in graphic arts -- Ashley Schabacker
  • E.H. Foersterling Memorial Art Award. Dedication to intellectual and professional promise in art -- Anna Myszka
  • Martha Blackburn Glasgow Award for Music. Significant contributions to the College music program -- Anastasia Morwell
  • Rhetoric 103 Wesley Mathers Memorial Award. Accomplishments and Talent in Public Speaking -- Kaytlyn Worner
  • Cultural Studies Award. Best essay in IOCC 350 -- Kaytlyn Worner
  • Burmeister Award for Poetry. Best poem of the year -- Kate Hammock
  • Ruby Neville Berlin Memorial Award for English. Best paper -- Kate Hammock
  • Social Work Department Award. Superior scholarship as a senior Social Work major -- Taylor Littig
  • Jewell A. Mann Memorial Award. Special interest in and outstanding aptitude for working with the elderly -- Anna Ruppel
  • Psychology Department Award. Superior scholarship as a senior Psychology major -- Anastasia Morwell
  • Biology Department Award. Superior scholarship as a senior Biology major -- Rochelle McElroy
  • Della Blackburn Osvald Memorial Award. Superior scholarship in preparing to enter a field of medicine or an allied area -- Derek Crouch
  • Belinda D. Campbell Memorial Award. Superior scholarship as an Accounting major -- Brittany Winters
  • Roger William LaFavre Award for Business. Superior scholarship as a senior Business major -- Brittany Winters
  • Matt Milne Sport Management Award. Superior scholarship as a senior Sport Management major -- Anthony Willeford
  • Criminal Justice Award. Superior scholarship as a senior Criminal Justice major -- Jamie E. Ingram

           Nursing Department Awards

  • Highest grade point average in the graduating nurses’ class -- Kelsey Gass
  • Exemplary leadership and professionalism -- Tracey Hart
  • Grace Fitch Award for Elementary Education. Excellent scholarship, professional and social qualities -- Christopher Phillips
  • Grace Hasenstab Haskell Award for Education of the Deaf and Hard of Hearing. Excellent scholarship, professional and social qualities -- Briana Sevik
  • Award for Education of Children with Disabilities. Excellent scholarship, outstanding personal qualities and professional growth -- Mariah Butcher
  • Marjorie A. Howard Physical Education Award. Superior scholarship as a senior Physical Education major -- Jeffery Bolen
  • Elizabeth Rearick Sportsmanship Award. Outstanding qualities of good sportsmanship as a senior -- Derek Crouch
  • Athletic Department Award for Highest Academic Achievement. Superior scholarship as a graduating senior athlete -- Samantha Petefish, Anthony Willeford


  • Olive L. Austin Award for Exceptional Executive Ability. Exceptional executive ability as a senior woman and graduate -- Anastasia Morwell
  • Conlee-Kent Memorial Award. Superbly representing College ideals as a junior -- Elizabeth Harney
  • Richard Nesmith Leadership Award. Fine qualities of leadership and scholarship as an M.S.A. leader --Jacob Goodwin
  • Dean W. Reiter Memorial Award. Exemplifying a high sense of responsibility and leadership among peers -- Derek Crouch
  • John Austin Van Hook Prize for Outstanding Campus Leadership. Outstanding leadership qualities in the 2013-14 academic year -- Brooke Lovekamp



For more information, contact:

Communications and Marketing, MacMurray College
Work: 217-479-7180
Email: Send Email

⇐ Back to press releases.