Skip to page content Skip to page menu Skip to page footer
Skip to page content Skip to page menu Skip to page footer Accessibility and access key information Home page Search mac.edu Site map Employee directory Email the webmaster About MacMurray College Admission Academics Athletics Student/campus life Resources Alumni Giving
Search Menu

Academic Calendars

Events on the academic calendar are posted to the campus calendar as well as Moodle.

2017-18 Academic Year

Fall Semester 2017 (73 class days — 14 M, 15 T, 15 W, 15 R, 14 F — 43 MWF, 30 TR)
Date Day Event
August 10 Tuesday Fall payment due date
August 25-27 Friday - Sunday Move-in weekend; residence halls open at 8 a.m.
August 28 Monday Opening Convocation
Online Session 1 begins
August 29 Tuesday Classes begin, including Module 1
September 5 Tuesday Enrollment Census Day: last day to add/drop a course
October 2 Monday Registration for J-term and spring semester open for seniors
October 3 Tuesday Registration for J-term and spring semester open for juniors
October 5 Thursday Registration for J-term and spring semester open for sophomores
October 9 Monday Registration for J-term and spring semester open for freshmen and new students
October 13 Friday Module 1 ends
October 16 Monday Module 2 begins
October 20 Friday Midterm grades due
October 20-22 Friday - Sunday Homecoming
October 21 Saturday Online Session 1 ends
October 23 Monday Online Session 2 begins
October 25 Wednesday Online Session 1 grades due
October 27 Friday Last day to drop courses with a W
November 10 Friday Deadline to petition to change final exam
November 17 Friday Residence halls close by 6 p.m.
November 18-26 Saturday – Sunday Thanksgiving Break
November 26 Sunday Residence halls reopen at 12 p.m.
December 8 Friday Last day of classes; Module 2 ends
December 11–14 Monday – Thursday Final exams
Residence halls close at 6 p.m.
December 15 Friday Final grades due by 4:30 p.m.
December 16 Saturday Online Session 2 ends
December 20 Wednesday Online Session 2 grades due
Winter J-term 2018 (20 class days — including Saturdays)
Date Day Event
January 3 Wednesday First day of classes
January 4 Thursday Last day to add J-term classes
January 19 Friday Last day of classes
Grades due by midnight
Spring Semester 2018 (73 class days — 13 M, 15 T, 15 W, 15 R, 15 F — 43 MWF, 30 TR)
Date Day Event
January 10 Friday Spring payment due date
January 21 Sunday Residence halls open at 12 p.m.
January 22 Monday Online Session 1 begins
January 23 Tuesday Classes begin, including Module 1
January 30 Tuesday Enrollment Census Day: last day to add/drop a course
March 16 Friday Midterm grades due
Module 1 ends
Residence halls close at 6 p.m.
March 17 - 25 Saturday - Sunday Spring Break
March 17 Saturday Online Session 1 ends
March 19 Monday Online Session 2 begins
March 21 Wednesday Online Session 1 grades due
March 25 Sunday Residence halls open at 12 p.m.
March 26 Monday Module 2 begins
Registration for fall and summer semester open for seniors
March 27 Tuesday Registration for fall and summer semester open for juniors
Last day to drop courses with a W
March 29 Thursday Registration for fall and summer semester open for sophomores
April 2 Monday Easter Monday: no classes
April 3 Tuesday Registration for fall and summer semester open for freshmen and new students
April 13 Friday Deadline to petition to change final exam
May 8 Tuesday Last day of classes; Module 2 ends
May 9 Wednesday Study Day
Evening Final Exams begin
May 10-14 Thursday – Monday Final exams
May 12 Saturday Online Session 2 ends
May 14 Monday Residence halls close at 6 p.m. (except for graduates)
May 15 Tuesday Final grades due by 4:30 p.m., including Online Session 2
May 18 Friday Commencement rehearsal
May 19 Saturday Commencement
Residence halls close at 6 p.m. for graduates and Commencement assistants

2018-19 Academic Year

Fall Semester 2018
Date Day Event
August 9 Thursday Fall payment due date
August 24-26 Friday - Sunday Move-in weekend; residence halls open at 8 a.m.
August 27 Monday Opening Convocation
Online Session 1 begins
August 28 Tuesday Classes begin, including Module 1
September 4 Tuesday Enrollment Census Day: last day to add/drop a course
October 4-7 Thursday - Sunday Fall Break
October 8 Monday Registration for J-term and spring semester open for seniors
October 9 Tuesday Registration for J-term and spring semester open for juniors
October 11 Thursday Registration for J-term and spring semester open for sophomores
October 12 Friday Module 1 ends
October 15 Monday Registration for J-term and spring semester open for freshmen and new students
Module 2 begins
October 19 Friday Midterm grades due
October 19-21 Friday - Sunday Homecoming
October 20 Saturday Online Session 1 ends
October 22 Monday Online Session 2 begins
October 24 Wednesday Online Session 1 grades due
October 26 Friday Last day to drop courses with a W
November 9 Friday Deadline to petition to change final exam
November 16 Friday Residence halls close by 6 p.m.
November 21-25 Saturday – Sunday Thanksgiving Break
November 25 Sunday Residence halls reopen at 12 p.m.
November 30 Friday Spring/J-term payment due date
December 7 Friday Last day of classes; Module 2 ends
December 10–13 Monday – Thursday Final exams
Residence halls close at 6 p.m.
December 14 Friday Final grades due by 4:30 p.m.
December 15 Saturday Online Session 2 ends
December 19 Wednesday Online Session 2 grades due
Winter J-term 2019 (20 class days — including Saturdays)
Date Day Event
January 2 Wednesday First day of classes
January 3 Thursday Last day to add J-term classes
January 18 Friday Last day of classes
Grades due by midnight
Spring Semester 2019
Date Day Event
November 30 Friday Spring payment due date
January 20 Sunday Residence halls open at 12 p.m.
January 21 Monday Online Session 1 begins
January 22 Tuesday Classes begin, including Module 1
January 30 Wednesday Enrollment Census Day: last day to add/drop a course
March 15 Friday Midterm grades due
Module 1 ends
Residence halls close at 6 p.m.
March 16 - 24 Saturday - Sunday Spring Break
March 16 Saturday Online Session 1 ends
March 18 Monday Online Session 2 begins
March 20 Wednesday Online Session 1 grades due
March 24 Sunday Residence halls open at 12 p.m.
March 25 Monday Module 2 begins
Registration for fall and summer semester open for seniors
March 26 Tuesday Registration for fall and summer semester open for juniors
Last day to drop courses with a W
March 28 Thursday Registration for fall and summer semester open for sophomores
April 1 Monday Easter Monday: no classes
April 2 Tuesday Registration for fall and summer semester open for freshmen and new students
April 12 Friday Deadline to petition to change final exam
May 7 Tuesday Last day of classes; Module 2 ends
May 8 Wednesday Study Day
Evening final exams begin
May 9-13 Thursday – Monday Final exams
May 11 Saturday Online Session 2 ends
May 13 Monday Residence halls close at 6 p.m. (except for graduates)
May 14 Tuesday Final grades due by 4:30 p.m., including Online Session 2
May 17 Friday Commencement rehearsal
May 18 Saturday Commencement
Residence halls close at 6 p.m. for graduates and Commencement assistants